Clinton Voter Data

2021 Election Stats

"Off year" elections are always a challenge.  Absence of national candidates and national issues typically results in a lackluster voter turnout.  This year was no exception in Dutchess County where the average turnout for democrats was an embarrassing 34%.  Democrats retained representation in the Comptroller's office (Robin Lois) and our County Legislator, Brennan Kearney was reelected.  Unfortunately, we lost seats in the County Legislature, leaving us with a lopsided representation of 6 Dem/16 Rep/1 Conser.  The Family Court Seat went to the Republican incumbent.  

HOWEVER!!! In the Town of Clinton, thanks to the strong efforts of democratic candidates Mike Whitton, Eliot Werner and Charlie Dykas, turnout by Democrats was 54% resulting in the election of 2 out of 3 Democrats running for office.  That Charlie Dykas lost the Town Board seat by 3 votes was a hard pill to swallow, but if we fuel our efforts with optimism, such a close vote was a victory in itself.  We now have 2 Democrats in our town government.


We continue to see progress in our efforts to strengthen the Democratic base in Clinton.

Voter Turnout 2015-21.png
2020 Election Stats

Note these positive local results from the 2020 presidential election in the

Town of Clinton, when over 75% percent of registered Democrats turned out

to vote! In comparison to 2016:

● There was a 15.14% swing toward the Democratic candidate in 2020.

● Over 400 more people voted for president in 2020, mostly for Joe Biden.

● The number of votes increased 44.15% for the Democratic candidate versus 5.39% for the Republican candidate


These impressive statistics resulted from the hard work of many people who volunteered their precious time to make phone calls, canvass door to door in difficult conditions, and stuff envelopes. We are proud of our efforts but there is still much work to be done. The 2022 midterm elections are quickly approaching and planning has already begun. Winning on the local level helps set the stage for 2024.